Virginia and Stanford Lead CSCAA Women’s Preseason Poll

The College Swimming and Diving Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) has released their women’s preseason poll, with Virginia and Stanford leading the way. The defending champion Cavaliers received 12 of 15 first place votes and the reloaded Cardinal received the other 3 first place votes. NC State, Michigan and Texas rounded out the top five. 

While some teams have begun competition, as the ‘preseason’ poll, pollsters were instructed to not penalize teams that have not yet competed.

Note: the CSCAA polls are designed to reflect dual meet strength, not necessarily a projection of NCAA Championship meet finish.

The poll reflects what is likely to be a tight two-team race between Virginia and Stanford throughout the season. At last year’s NCAA Championship, Virginia won handily with 491 points, ahead of 2nd place NC State and 3rd place Texas. Stanford, which was hit hard by multiple redshirts and deferments last season, finished in ninth with 159 points. 

From last year’s NCAA results, Stanford is the biggest riser, moving up from 9th to 2nd. Two programs also had significant drops from last season’s NCAA finish, as Alabama dropped from 5th to 14th, and Texas A&M fell from 14th to 21st. 

Some notable Top 10 matchups are set to take place this weekend, as #1 Virginia travels west to take on #6 Cal, and #3 NC State heads to Knoxville to take on #7 Tennessee. 

NCAA Division I Poll

Rk Prv Team Points
1   Virginia 372
2   Stanford 363
3   NC State 333
4   Michigan 331
5   Texas 325
6   California 293
7   Tennessee 276
8   Georgia 267
9   Florida 250
10   Ohio State 243
11   Indiana 242
12   Kentucky 203
13   Louisville 187
14   Alabama 168
15   North Carolina 156
16   Northwestern 143
17   Southern California 141
18   Virginia Tech 111
19   Wisconsin 106
20   Missouri 94
21   Texas A&M 88
22   Arizona State 79
23   Auburn 35
24   Duke 31
25   Notre Dame 22


Also Receiving Votes

Florida State (8), San Diego State (3), Miami (FL) (2), Southern Methodist (1), South Carolina (1)

Women’s Poll Committee

Jen Betz, Kansas; Niko Fantakis, Brown; Naya Higashijima, Southern Methodist (Chair); Andrew Hodgson, Northwestern; Lars Jorgensen, Kentucky; Nathan Lavery, Drexel; Ben Loorz, UNLV; Sergio Lopez, Virginia Tech; Jonathan Maccoll, Rutger; Lea Maurer, Southern California; Jeana Kempe, South Carolina; Jos Smith, Utak; Mike Stephens, Boston College; Braden Keith, SwimSwam; David Rieder, Swimming World.