Ken Sawyer Named 2021 W. Howard Hartman Little League® Friendship Award Recipient

In celebration of his 50th season as part of the Official Radio Broadcast of the Little League Baseball® World Series, Ken Sawyer has been named the 2021 W. Howard Hartman Little League® Friendship Award winner.

“While every year’s World Series brings different sights and sounds to Williamsport, the one thing that has been consistent for the past 50 years has been the joy of listening to Ken Sawyer and his team bring the action happening on the field directly into your homes or vehicles,” said Stephen D. Keener, Little League President and CEO. “Not only has Ken shown his dedication and commitment as one of our tremendous radio broadcasters, but he is also the first one willing to step up and help out in any way he can to provide the best possible experience to the Little Leaguers, our fans, and communities around the world. On behalf of everyone at Little League International, I want to congratulate Ken on 50 years of tremendous service and on receiving this prestigious award.”

Mr. Sawyer began his Little League World Series broadcast career in 1971, having the opportunity to witness “Legendary” Lloyd McClendon make World Series history as he recorded five home runs, 10 RBI, and five intentional walks in 10 plate appearances on the first all African American team to participate in the LLBWS.

Even after retiring after more than 40 years at his year-round role as a local radio personality on WRAK in 2013, Mr. Sawyer continued to help broadcast the Little League Baseball World Series each year and tell the stories of Little Leaguers from around the world to the local Williamsport community. In addition to calling the games of the LLBWS, Mr. Sawyer has lent his vocal talents to numerous Little League projects over the years, including video presentations for the Little League International Congress and filling in to call the 2016 Little League Baseball Great Lakes Region Championship that was relocated to Howard J. Lamade Stadium.

Ken Sawyer and Family

The W. Howard Hartman Little League Friendship Award was created in 1988 to honor W. Howard Hartman, one of Little League International’s most generous and loyal friends. The award is presented annually to an individual or organization who has demonstrated a similar relationship with Little League.

Previous Recipients:

  • 1988-Ray Keyes
  • 1989-Robert Yasui
  • 1990-Putsee Vannucci
  • 1991-Howard Baldwin
  • 1992-Jack Lundy
  • 1993-Bill Byham
  • 1994-Gary Mayer
  • 1995-John Troisi
  • 1996-Mary Lib Stockwell
  • 1997-Sharon Verbos
  • 1998-Ed Claudius
  • 1999-Terry Gramling
  • 2000-Tom Dempsey
  • 2001-Williamsport-Lycoming Foundation
  • 2002-Alan Wells
  • 2003-Peter Luppachino
  • 2004-Thomas ‘Tuck’ Frazier
  • 2005-Hon. William Miller
  • 2006-Susquehanna Health System
  • 2007-Lycoming County Law Enforcement Association
  • 2008-Williamsport/Lycoming Chamber of Commerce
  • 2009-Fred Plankenhorn & Paul Weaver
  • 2010-WRAK Radio (Williamsport, Pa.)
  • 2011-Dave and Don Fowler
  • 2012-Lenel Systems International, Inc.
  • 2013-Steve Moff
  • 2014-Federal Correctional Complex Allenwood & U.S. Penitentiary Lewisburg
  • 2015-Pennsylvania State Police, Troop F
  • 2016-American Honda Motor Co.
  • 2017-Jim Darby, Easton Sports & Easton Foundation
  • 2018-Don Goodman, Calif. District 35 Administrator
  • 2019-Paul Graziano
  • 2020-No Award Due to Coronavirus Pandemic
  • 2021-Ken Sawyer