Flyers announce Hall of Fame Induction Plans and Committees for 2021-22

The Philadelphia Flyers announced today that the organization has begun the process of identifying a new inductee for the Flyers Hall of Fame. The organization has also revamped the selection process for identifying new inductees with a focus on soliciting input from a wide range of perspectives, including former players, journalists, and others.

“We’re incredibly proud of our franchise’s storied history, and the Flyers Hall of Fame is an important way to honor individuals who have shaped the legacy of our organization,” said Dave Scott, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Comcast Spectacor and Governor of the Philadelphia Flyers. “When young Flyers fans visit our arena, they see names like Bobby Clarke, Bill Barber, and Eric Lindros displayed in the rafters and have an opportunity to learn about the legends who have made the Flyers one of the NHL’s truly great hockey franchises. That’s what this tradition and this process is all about – celebrating and building the legacy of the Philadelphia Flyers for generations to come.”
The selection process for the Flyers Hall of Fame will consist of two separate committees: a nomination committee and a voting committee, both of which are comprised of current Flyers Hall of Fame members, Flyers alumni, members of the Flyers front office, broadcasters, and members of the Philadelphia chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers Association (PHWA).
The Nomination Committee will review former players and members of the Flyers organization, identify a list of finalists for consideration, and present the qualifications for each potential inductee.
Then, the Voting Committee will review the finalists and cast their votes to decide who will be inducted into the Flyers Hall of Fame. The number of inductees will be determined by the finalist votes and will not be limited to only one inductee.
The 2021-22 season marks the first time in five seasons that the club will induct a member into the Flyers Hall of Fame. Former defenseman Jimmy Watson (Feb. 29, 2016) and former forward Rod Brind’Amour (Nov. 23, 2015) are the most recent inductees.
Once the inductee or inductees are selected, the Flyers will identify a home game this season at which the organization will conduct a pregame ceremony to enshrine the latest member(s) of the Flyers Hall of Fame.
More information on the Flyers Hall of Fame induction process will be announced in the coming weeks.
The Flyers Hall of Fame currently has 25 honored members, beginning with the inaugural inductions of Bob Clarke and Bernie Parent in 1988.

1988 – Bob Clarke and Bernie Parent
1989 – Bill Barber, Ed Snider and Keith Allen
1990 – Rick MacLeish and Fred Shero
1991 – Barry Ashbee and Gary Dornhoefer
1992 – Reggie Leach and Gene Hart
1993 – Joe Scott and Ed Van Impe
1994 – Tim Kerr
1996 – Joe Watson
1999 – Brian Propp
2001 – Mark Howe
2004 – Dave Poulin
2008 – Ron Hextall
2009 – Dave Schultz
2014 – Eric Lindros and John LeClair
2015 – Eric Desjardins
2015 – Rod Brind’Amour
2016 – Jimmy Watson