James Tavernier scoops Rangers award double as Connor Goldson claims Steven Gerrard accolade


Rangers star James Tavernier had a successful night at the club’s player of the year awards as he scooped two of the top prizes.

He picked up the Players’ Player of the Year and the top goalscorer award after netting 19 goals in all competitions for Steven Gerrard’s men.

Many feel it was a close competition between the Ibrox skipper and Connor Goldson for the top award, and the centre back did win the manager’s player of the year award.

Both players had a fantastic season and played their part in a record-breaking Rangers defence that conceded just 13 goals.

Allan McGregor was also given one of the top awards as he was named player of the year in the award voted for by fans.

Ianis Hagi also had a successful campaign and he was named the club’s Young Player of the Year after grabbing nine goals and 15 assists.

Nathan Patterson was named Academy Player of the Year while the Women’s award went to American defender Brianna Westrup. Kemar Roofe’s stunning goal against Standard Liege in the Europa League earned him the goal of the season award ahead of some other fantastic strikes.

Steven Davis was handed the John Greig Achievement award while Alfredo Morelos was also given a trophy to celebrate him becoming Rangers’ top goalscorer in European competition after he beat Ally McCoist’s record back in November.

Rangers news and features


Fan’s Player of the Year: Allan McGregor

Players’ Player of the Year: James Tavernier

Manager’s Player of the Year: Connor Goldson

Top Goalscorer: James Tavernier

Young Player of the Year: Ianis Hagi

Goal of the season: Kemar Roofe vs Standard Liege.

John Greig Achievement award: Steven Davis

Academy Player of the year: Nathan Patterson

Women’s Player of the Year: Brianna Westrup


Source link