Board of Managers decide on a 12-team College Football Playoff, sources say

The College Football Playoff’s Board of Managers voted on Friday to expand the CFP to 12 teams in 2026, but is encouraging the sport’s commissioners to try to implement it as soon as 2024, multiple sources told ESPN.

The 11 presidents and chancellors who comprise the CFP’s Board of Managers approved the original 12-team model, which is the six highest-ranked conference champions, and six at-large teams.

The 10 FBS commissioners and Notre Dame athletic director Jack Swarbrick will meet next week in Dallas to figure out the details.

An FBS commissioner told ESPN, “We have work to do, but will try and make it happen soon.”