NEC Announces Indoor Track and Field All-Conference honorees

The Northeast Conference announced men’s and women’s all-conference honors for the indoor track and field season on Thursday. Central Connecticut earned first team honors in five events and three second team honors on the women’s side, while having an all-rookie selection on the men’s side. Head coach Eric Blake, associate head coach Nicole Dumpson-Jackson and the CCSU coaching staff was named Women’s Indoor co-Coaching Staff of the Year.

Blake and his coaching staff made history in February, guiding the Blue Devils to a share of the NEC title. The Blue Devils scored 98 points to earn a share of the women’s title for the first time since 2001.


Senior Angie Rafter earned a trio of first team honors after winning the mile, 3,000m and 5,000m races. Rafter was named the Most Valuable Performer for her efforts.

Junior Ashley Dana joined Rafter on the First Team with a win in the 800m. She was also named Most Outstanding Track Performer (Distance).

Rafter and Dana were joined by sophomores Magnalen Camara and Brooke Morabito to earn First Team recognition for the DMR team which ran 12:06.86 to win gold.


Dana took silver in the mile run to earn a spot on the All-NEC Second Team.

Morabito earned a spot on the Second Team in both the the 3,000 meter and 5,000 meter runs.


Freshman Israel Henriques-Sotho earned All-Rookie honors after taking bronze in the long jump with a mark of 7.02 meters.