Smarting Wallaroos make seven changes for second Test against New Zealand | Rugby union

Wallaroos coach Jay Tregonning has rung the changes for the second Test against New Zealand as Australia seek to recover from last weekend’s heavy defeat to the Black Ferns.

Seven changes have been made to the run-on XV for the game in Adelaide on Saturday after the 52-5 hammering in Christchurch seven days ago, with two players set for baptisms of fire as they make their debuts against the world champion Kiwis.

Brumbies centre Siokapesi Palu was on Thursday named at inside centre with sevens specialist Bienne Terita to start on the wing in the first half of a double header at Adelaide Oval, with the Wallabies to play South Africa later in the day.

“We have two new players coming into the backline this week in Siokapesi and Bienne, and we believe they both have a lot to offer the team,” Tregonning said of the debutants.

Liz Patu returns at loosehead prop with Bree-Anna Cheatham ruled out through injury, while Adiana Talakai and Eva Karpani come into the starting line-up from the bench.

Lock Atasi Lafai, who returned from injury in the first Test, continues in the second row, while Grace Kelly’s head knock in training has opened the door for Grace Hamilton in the backrow.

“We’ve made some changes this week off the back of last week’s result, as well as some minor injuries within the squad,” said Tregonning. “We’re lucky to have built significant depth within the group over the last few months, and the players that have come into the starting line-up this week are deserving of their opportunity.

“We’ve had another solid week of training, off the back of an in-depth review following last weekend’s match, and the team are really looking forward to playing in Adelaide for the first time ever this weekend.

“This is a historic game, it’s not often we get to spread the word of rugby to South Australia, so the team is hoping for a solid turnout from the locals at one of Australia’s most iconic sporting grounds on Saturday.”

Wallaroos: 1. Liz Patu, 2. Adiana Talakai, 3. Eva Karpani, 4. Atasi Lafai, 5. Michaela Leonard, 6. Emily Chancellor, 7. Shannon Parry (captain), 8. Grace Hamilton, 9. Iliseva Batibasaga, 10. Arabella McKenzie, 11. Ivania Wong , 12. Siokapesi Palu, 13. Georgina Friedrichs, 14. Bienne Terita, 15. Pauline Piliae-Rasabale. Reserves: 16. Ashley Marsters, 17. Emily Robinson, 18. Bridie O’Gorman, 19. Kaitlan Leaney, 20. Piper Duck, 21. Layne Morgan, 22. Trilleen Pomare, 23. Lori Cramer.