South African team for World Athletic Champs named by ASA

South African sprinter Wayde van Niekerk

Michael Steele/Getty Images

40-member team will represent South Africa at the World Athletics Championship
between 15 and 24 July in Eugene, Oregon.

squad made up of 27 men, and 13 women includes the likes of 400m world record
holder Wayde van Niekerk, Olympic 100m finalist Akani Simbine and former World
Championships long jump medallist Ruswahl Samaai.

of the members are under 23, including sprinters Shaun Maswanganyi, Sinesipho
Dambile, Lindokuhle Gora, Shirley Nekhubui, Precious Molepo and Gontse Morake,
hurdlers Sokwakhana Zazini, Zeney van der Walt and Marione Fourie and
middle-distance runner Prudence Sekgodiso.

is our team of warriors who are going to defend our honour in the USA,” said
James Moloi, the president of Athletics South Africa.

are happy for all of them for qualifying to be in the final team selection. We
also congratulate all athletes who made the team because they really worked
hard to meet the required standards.

an exciting team and the beginning of a new era. This is a team made of a good
head count of 10 athletes under the age of 23 years who are all seeking glory
at the biggest athletics stage on earth. Even if we may not be able to predict
the end results, South Africa is definitely going to war against the rest of
the world for the ultimate glory of the athletics podium.”

Full squad:

Akani Simbine, Gift Leotela, Clarence Munyani, Henricho Bruintjies, Emile Erasmus, Luxolo Adams, Shaun Maswanganyi, Sinesipho Dambile, Wayde van Niekerk, Zakithi Nene, Tshepo Tshite, Ryan Mpahele, Antonio Alkana, Sokwakhana Zazini, Adriaan Wildschutt, Precious Mashele, Melikhaya Frans, Tumelo Motlagale, Wayne Snyman, Werner Visser, Victor Hogan, Johan Grobler, Ruswahl Samaai, Jovan van Vuuren, Cheswill Johnson, Lindukuhle Gora, Derrick Mokaleng, Carina Horn, Miranda Coetzee, Prudence Sekgodiso, Dominique Scott, Marione Fourie, Zenéy van der Walt, Wenda Nel,Taylon Bieldt, Ischke Senekal, Jo-Ane van Dyk, Gontse Morake, Precious Molepo, Shirley Nekhubui